Why is head so good?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bobbydigital

Reaction score
Ok, we know what your thinking but this is serious.

Why when you people rate beers you talk about "the head"?
In my opionion (im a rookie) head is bad, cause it just gets in the way of my drinking.......when i pour my beer, i try to get NO HEAD.

:drunk:

Well one of the reasons is that the head gives off the aroma of the beer, since taste and smell are tied directly together this is a good thing.

I was going to make some real snide comment, but decided not to, my heads just not in it.

The formation of head and head retention show a well made beer. Usually it means the beer was fermented and conditioned properly and that the recipe was good.

Ahhh well you see....oh nevermind this could get ugly.
The perfect pour leaves 1-1 1/2 inch head in the glass.
This is for aroma.
I also think it's beautifull!!!

head is style dependent. An American Lager should have almost none to none IMO. A creamy stout should definitely have a thick one that you have to get on your lip just to drink some liquid.

I am not a big fan of head either ;) That is, I do like a nice head as I pour it, but I prefer it collapsing back into the brew quickly, rather than hanging around for longer than a couple of minutes. It just doesn't taste that great to me in most styles.

I've always considered head to be directly proportionate to mouthfeel.

Beers with "thicker" or "creamier" mouthfeel will have head while thinner, more drinkable beers will have less head.

Kevin Dean said:
I've always considered head to be directly proportionate to mouthfeel.

This is the only place in the world you can put the words "head" and "mouthfeel" in the same sentence and have it sound perfectly clean. :D