Basic 3 Tier electric setup help (e-brew noob)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jdog101

Reaction score
I have been brewing extract for a couple years before finally moving to all grain a few weeks ago. I have been reading the electric forum for a while, and have finally decided to make the jump to an electric brew setup. I know there are a ton of posts on what you need to get setup, but I haven't been able to find a thread that is for a setup like mine, while being basic enough for me to understand.
Current setup:
15 gal keggle Boil kettle
10 igloo cooler mlt
10 gallong mega pot hlt
3 tier brew stand

I would like to keep things a gravity fed for now to keep costs down. The boss has approved a budget of about $300 for all new parts. I have an electrician friend who will do the wiring, but he doesn't brew so I need a parts list and diagram. Not sure if $300 or less is feasible since I know there is a lot to buy. Any help is greatly appreciated. It would be nice if the setup is upgradable for future add ons, but like I said it is a tight budget.

Thanks,
Jared

What is available for you electrically?

Do you have the room/capacity for an additional 30A 220 circuit? 110 only? Do you wish to do 10Gal batches or 5 only? Do you wish to use electricity for both the HLT and Boil? Back to back batches? (both hlt and bk going at the same time) Batch or Fly sparge?

I have access to 220v. 5 & 10 gallon batches. Not planning to run both bk & hlt at same time, but if the price is close it would be nice.

I have seen a few people mention using 240v infinite switches as a very basic option. That would keep out the expense if pid's and all of that. Is there any reason 1 240 volt infinite switch for each element in a outlet box would not work?