Tips For Success With White Lab WLP630 Berliner Weisse Blend

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brewinginct

Reaction score
Pretty self explanatory, I've never used this yeast or made a sour beer before and I'd like to know how to get the most out of this blend, based off of all of your experience

-What temperature should I do primary at? I've heard temperatures ranging from early 70s to mid 80s.

-How long does this take to reach a nice sour level?

-Conditioning- Do you leave it in secondary for months or bottle it for aging?

Any other general tips and advice would be greatly appreciated, thanks in advance

White labs says optimum temp is 68-72 so I would stick with that for my first time. I have no experience with lacto fermentations yet, but I've heard they take a while to sour. One thing I've heard, and you wouldn't be able to do this with your yeast, is pitch a lacto vile instead of your beer yeast and let it work, and then once the pH has dropped a bit, pitch your beer yeast at high krausen to finish it off.

I think your best bet it to email white labs and ask what they think, I mean they came up with that blended culture.

i primary mine for about 10 -14 days then secondary it for around 6 months give or take depending on your taste. i ferment mine around 72 degrees. I have never used the white labs blend before but im sure its standard issue clean german ale yeast with a lacto culture. It wont even be close to sour for a long time so dont get impatient.

From my own experience and talking it over down at the brewshop, here are a few tips: