Hydrometer readings

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Vismich

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm new to honebrewing. I brewed my first batch a few weeks ago withought getting a Hydrometer reading. I just waited for the bubbles to stop in my airlock and bottled. Turned out good, but I want to take a reading on the batch I have brewing now.

That said, when should I take a reading? One week after fermenting? After the bubbles stop?

Second, how do I take wort out to get a reading? Sticking a cup in there seems to go against everything in regards to keeping a steril environment...

Thanks!!

You take an OG reading just before you pitch the yeast, then I normally take SG readings for 2-3 days after airlock activity stops, normally about a week. If the SG readings is the same for 2-3 days in a row fermentation is complete.

I have read most guys use a turkey baster that is sanitized to draw some wort out, I just use the faucets on my fermenters.

A turkey baster is a great idea.

I'm using a bucket. The airlock has been bubbling for a week. I did an initial reading, and will do one tonight I guess.

Let me ask this... When you need to just steralize one thing, like a turkey badger, are there wipes you can buy?

I dont want to mix up a whole thing of the sterilize mix that came in my kit for just one thing

Vismich said:
Let me ask this... When you need to just steralize one thing, like a turkey badger, are there wipes you can buy?

I dont want to mix up a whole thing of the sterilize mix that came in my kit for just one thing

I use a spray bottle of star san which last white a while.

when using a bucket and after the krausen has fallen, just put the hydrometer directly into the bucket. Lowers infection chances and one less thing to clean.