Cheap grade honey vs high quality honey

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MeadWitch

Reaction score
I was reading on another thread, that I cannot find anymore, that someone only makes mead from the cheapest honey that they can find. I took that as the lowest grade, not the most economically priced honey that they could find. But I could be mistaken in my interpretation.

As a former chef, I believe the higher quality of ingredients used, the higher quality end product. It is very hard and a lot of work to turn low quality ingredients into a stellar product. I enjoy reading about the different meads made with different honeys and how they taste in the finished product. My question is what was your worst honey and best honey meads and how did they rate against each other?

My best honey was a southern Texas Hujillo honey that produced a awesome end product. Worse honey mead was using a locally produced honey from just north of Austin. I have heard since that it is predominately a tallow tree honey plus a bunch more blended in. It was a gift and costs $48.00 a gallon. Assumed to be stellar but was not, produced an inferior mead all the way around.

Something you might be interested in, there was a Basic Brewing Radio podcast (or maybe a couple of them) where they did experiments with different types of honey. February 2009. Made up small batches of mead with different varieties and reported back on the results. Huge variances in the characteristics different types impart. I had a mead that a friend made, I can't remember which type of honey it was but it was very harsh and woody - not terribly pleasant.

I guess what I'd say is that the "quality" of the honey, as reflected in the price, is likely going to be less important that the type of honey it is.