Brewstand Build

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bwiens

Reaction score
After brewing for a year on my make-shift 'stand' I have decided to go ahead with something more appropriate. I have no welding experience and after seeing many builds that are slightly different and the always present ‘next time I would do this’, I went with the erector-set design.

I started by looking at Sam Scott's Wallace and at Bender’s Weldless brew stand and finally at the My brewstand design from BeantownR6. From these I made my design modifications and thanks to the Revit model from BeantownR6, I got my plans drawn up and started to buy things. My design is a 4 vessel design: HLT, MLT, Kettle, and Whirlpool. I went with this so I can more easily do back to back batches and the added cost was minimal. Thanks to the erector-set design, if 4 don’t work I can easily drop back to 3 like the others have.

The current plans are for it to be HERMS system with 2 pumps and be natural gas. I will be using 2 hurricane burners with the natural gas conversion kits from Williams Brewing. There will be a vertical heat shielded wall between the burner side and the non-burner side. I will be running hard piping for the gas and for water along the bottom with a carbon water filter. For cooling I will be using a CFC chiller with tap water and then ice water from either the HLT or a separate vessel.

The MLT and Whirlpool vessels will be upside-down kegs utilizing the sanke fitting with 2” tri-clovers. A false bottom will be in the MLT. I will dump the trub from the whirlpool and then dump the wort into a sanke fermenter on a cart so it can be moved to the fermentation chamber.