APA recipe critique?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

thisone

Reaction score
basically what I'm going for here in an inexpensive pale ale. all of this should cost <$20 (I'm reusing yeast). I'd like to keep this inexpensive because I'm new to all-grain (and brewing in general) and would like to make sure that I've got everything down, and it'd be nice to have an inexpensive homebrew to keep in stock and remake in the future

I'm not sure which temp would be best to mash at. perhaps 155 so it doesn't finish too low?

Batch Size (Gal): 5.00 Wort Size (Gal): 5.00
Total Grain (Lbs): 9.00
Anticipated OG: 1.045 Plato: 11.18
Anticipated SRM: 10.5
Anticipated IBU: 35.4
Brewhouse Efficiency: 70 %
Wort Boil Time: 60 Minutes

Grain/Extract/Sugar

% Amount Name Origin Potential SRM
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
88.9 8.00 lbs. Pale Malt(2-row) America 1.036 2
6.9 0.63 lbs. Crystal 60L America 1.034 60
2.8 0.25 lbs. Special B Malt Belgian 1.030 120
1.4 0.13 lbs. Melanoidin Malt 1.033 35

Potential represented as SG per pound per gallon.

Hops

Amount Name Form Alpha IBU Boil Time
0.25 oz. Warrior Pellet 15.40 19.0 60 min.
0.50 oz. Centennial Pellet 9.00 11.3 30 min.
0.50 oz. Cascade Pellet 6.00 3.9 15 min.
0.25 oz. Cascade Pellet 6.00 1.2 5 min.

Yeast
-----

White Labs WLP001 California Ale

Depends what you're aiming for. If you want an APA that's true to style, I'd probably drop the melanoidin and special b. If you choose to leave those grains in, it will have more malt character than usual for the style. Not necessarily a bad thing, maybe just a little different.

I usually shoot for 152-154 - APAs shouldn't be too malty/sweet.