Tron's Better Bottle Warmer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TronCarter

Reaction score
I'm new to this hobby, so forgive me if this idea has been done before. I would be surprised if it hadn't. I'm making my first batch of EdWort's Apfelwein and wanted to keep my carboy at 70-72F while in the fall and winter my house is usually around 64F. One of my other hobbies is saltwater aquariums, so I had a supply of heaters that weren't being used. I bought an oil drain pan from Menards for $7.44, cut a hole in the top for the BB, a small hole for the heater, put in the BB, filled the pan with 2 gallons of water, set the heater for 70, put it in, and I was done. Let me know what you think.

bbwarmer1_thumb.jpg
bbwarmer2_thumb.jpg

Full sized images:

http://webpages.charter.net/troncarter/bbwarmer1.jpg
http://webpages.charter.net/troncarter/bbwarmer2.jpg

Nice indirect heating, there! Looks like a cheap'n easy winner to me, and I haven't heard of it before.

Looks good, but I would say 64 F is a better temp. than 70 F for most ales.

Where does the water flow, or does it just sit in the interior of the drain pan, so the carboy is never actually touching the water?
When you set the water for 70F, and the large carboy is sitting 1/2 inch above the water, if the room temp is 60, will the carboy liquid even come close to 65F? I like the idea, just curious if there's enough heat transfer. Is there a thermometer "label" on your carboy so you can see the temp of the fluid?

LouT said:
Where does the water flow, or does it just sit in the interior of the drain pan, so the carboy is never actually touching the water?