kegging question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Aschecte

Brewtus Maximus
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
ok I'm new to kegging and I hope this is a simple question...

so if I want 2.5 volumes carb at 40 degrees I know I want to set it at appx 13 psi for a week or so that part I understand now do I leave it at 13 psi or lower the psi for serving ? also better example may be 2.5 volumes at 55 degrees would be 20 psi would I still serve at 20 psi ? Thanks for any input as I'm lost and can't find a similar post in a search.

Yeah, if you're doing the set and forget method. I rarely ever change my pressure.

I chill my keg over night then put it on the gas for a week at 11-12 PSI, and then in a week it's usually ready to go. i will then serve at 11-12 PSI.

Yes, you leave the pressure at whatever the chart says until the keg is empty.

This is the basic progression...
1. Decide what temp you want to keep the beer at.
2. Decide what carb level you want (volumes).
3. Refer to the chart for the appropriate equilibrium or target pressure.
4. Choose a 3/16" ID serving line length that will pour without firehose foaming.

The last part is a little tricky, but tubing is cheap enough to start long and cut back as necessary. 55F is really too warm even for English beers because by the time the glass contributes heat, you're already near 60F. 40-45F is more realistic even for those cellar temp beers.