How far do you drive to your job??

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BlatzBeer

Reaction score
I'm wondering how far you guys drive to your job. I'm looking to buy a house that about 55 minutes away from my wifes work. I'm a rep on the road so it really doesn't matter that much. It's farther away from my territory though, but I like the house. I know the gas is gonna suck.

If you can, I'd avoid it. That's an hour one way.....and your wife would be doing that twice a day, 5 days a week (depending on her schedule). I live 55-60 miles from work and it takes 60-75 mins. Sometimes longer if there's a wreck. I've been doing the drive for 2 years, and I'm SICK of it. Gas is 200+/month (that's just me, my wife spends about $150). In reality, the biggest problem I've had is that it's damaged my willingness to be involved with people/friends at work. All of our friends are about 1.5 hours away, and nobody wants to come visit because of the drive. Likewise, we don't want to go see them because it's a PITA. Sorry to be Debby Downer, but think REAL hard before you move there. Your relationship with your wife could become strained ;)

Debbie Downer is right...(Sorry Steve... I couldn't resist...:D)

I live 32 miles from the city and we don't get many visitors for the same reason...which, if you like it that way is not a bad thing. ;)

If you're on the road a lot then I would opt to move closer to where the wife works this way there's one less problem that may arise in the future.

Good luck.

12.6 each way. Takes about 2/3 of a gallon round trip in my old 10 year old Saturn wagon. 20 minutes on a good day, 35 on a bad one.

I never appreciated it till I worked 7 minutes from work before. The closer you are, the quicker you have access to a home brew. :D