Entymologists, help! (Spider ID)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I found this critter on the porch near all of my brew equipment. I made an attempt to move him to a place where our dog wouldn't get near him, but he was quite nimble, and I wasn't sure of his jumping and/or biting capabilities. Unfortunately, I had to dispatch him instead. I did manage to get a picture before I disturbed him. Can anyone ID this spider for me?

4688-spider.JPG

I can't say that I am an expert on arachnids, but given your location, I would have to conclude that is a tarantula. I'm not sure of what sub-species it is though.

johnsma22 said:
I can't say that I am an expert on arachnids, but given your location, I would have to conclude that is a tarantula. I'm not sure of what sub-species it is though.

Thats what It looks like to me. It wont hurt ya.

The Desert Tarantula (Aphonopelma chalcodes) grows 2 to 3 inches long and is colored gray to dark brown. It is common to the Sonoran, Chihuahuan and Mojave deserts of Arizona, New Mexico and Southern California.

A beautiful looking one too, as long as you don't put pressure on the body they make great pets.

Apparently the New Mexico state insect is the Tarantula Hunting Wasp.

He's dead now. If he didn't scare the hell out of me with his speed and reared up "I'm about to bite you" posture, I'd have spared him. If I had a terrarium, he'd be in it.

I've always liked spiders, it's good to see them killing mosquitos and flies. Both my parents are entomologists, so I grew up with em always around. I'm Polish too, my grandparents passed down an old superstition that it's bad luck to kill a spider in your house.

However, my wife has the same reaction as you and kills them when I'm not looking.

Vermicous said: