Sanitizer in Spray Bottle

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ImNewToBrew

Reaction score
If I wanted to add some sanitizing mixture (water+Iodophor) into a spray bottle and leave it there, how long would it be effective? I'm a newbie and I'm wondering if I could just have this around for times I need to sanitizing a thief or other piece of equipment.

Iodophor looses it's effectiveness as the iodine dissipates in a few hours. I keep a spray bottle of Starsan for that purpose, it keeps for months.

Yep...spray bottle of starsan.

I use a "Professional" Sprayer bottle from Lowe's (replaced my crap dollar store sprayer). I take a gallon of distilled and use a children's medicine dropper from CVS ($2.99). I suck up 6ml of starsan and shoot it into the gallon. My dropper goes from 1ml to 10ml in 1ml increments and it fits perfectly in the dispensing side of the starsan bottle. I use that gal jug to fill up my sprayer bottle.

I use a spray bottle with starsan also and absolutely love it! I usually throw it out after about a month or so but realistically, how long can I actually keep it in the bottle for without it going bad?

Actually if it's in a sealed spray bottle and you use RO/distilled water, you can get a couple weeks with iodophor before it turns clear and loses it's effectiveness. I've kept both starsan and iodophor on hand that way, and in a sealed container a small amount of iodophor will last longer than most of the previous posters have conjectured.

Yep the key to keeping Starsan effective in a spray bottle is to make sure to use DI water. With that you can get a few months out of a bottle.

Thanks for the help. One last questions: