Why aerate after putting the wort into the primary fermenter?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

max384

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I'm very new to brewing. I still have my first batch in the primary fermenter. Prior to starting my first batch, I watched the DVD from Midwest Brewing Supplies that came with my extract kit, read a book, and watched some videos on Youtube. On most all of these I see that it says to aerate the wort in the primary fermenter right after pouring it in.

In light of the mechanisms of alcoholic fermentation, why would that be a recommendation?

We know that aerobic respiration is impossible in the absence of oxygen, so why would we want to promote oxidative phosphorylation at the start of the fermentation process? Wouldn't it be much better to avoid oxygen saturation as much as possible in order to start the anaerobic fermentation process as quickly as possible?

Yeast simply can't multiply as much as we need them to using anaerobic respiration. Think of it this way: yeast can survive anaerobically, but they can't thrive. To multiply the 2-12X needed to ferment the wort well they need to be aerobic.

Okay, that makes sense. So, it's basically a tradeoff in order to get enough yeast to properly ferment without using up too much sugar in doing so.

So, could a larger amount of yeast be propagated prior to putting it into the wort to compensate for this?

Doesn't aerobic respiration create off tastes?

Okay, that makes sense. So, it's basically a tradeoff in order to get enough yeast to properly ferment without using up too much sugar in doing so.

So, could a larger amount of yeast be propagated prior to putting it into the wort to compensate for this?

Doesn't aerobic respiration create off tastes?