What store bought "session" beer do you drink

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LarryC

Reaction score
I'm new to brewing and relatively new to the world of craft beers (4+ years). I have developed a taste for IPA's and the more flavorful beers. However, I find that I'm not the young buck I used to be and if I drink a few too many high ABV beers it takes a toll on me. So since I'm still getting started in home brewing my inventory is low and I supplement with store bought beer (love Green Flash, Ballast Point & Stone to name a few of the locals here).

However, Id like to get some lower ABV beer that still tastes like beer so I could have a few more throughout the day without being trashed by sundown.

What are your favorite store bought session beers?

I'm not sure how many of these you'll be able to find in your area, but at least some of them will be available I'm sure. Most of these beers are pretty affordable, and the breweries all have variety packs so you can have make your own decisions without buying way too much. These are in no particular order btw, off the top of my head.

Philadelphia Brewing Co.'s Kenzinger. 4.5% and a go to beer for a lot of people on otherwise BMC menu's (although more and more restaurants are stocking the myriad of products from Philadelphia area breweries) Walt Wit and Rowhouse Red are pretty good as well.

Victory Brewing Co. - everything these guys make I seem to like. A lot of them are powerful, but among the weaker there is the Uncle Teddy's Bitter (4%), Whirlwind Witbier (5%), Prima Pils (5.3% - Definitely try this one if you can), Victory Lager,

Lancaster Brewery has some real drinkable stuff in the 5% range. I like their Milk Stout (5.3%) and Amish 4-Grain Ale (5.6%).