Adding malt extract at end of boil

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

biojen

Reaction score
I recently ordered an extract kit from Austin Homebrew Supply. The instructions say to add all of the malt extract and malto dextrin at the end of the boil, after removing the wort from the heat.

I've been brewing extract kits for several years, and have never encountered instructions quite like this before.

What is the reason for boiling the malt for less than 60 minutes, or in this case, not at all?

(This is one of AHS's "Session Series" extract kits, designed for a rapid brew that I can drink while I'm waiting on my holiday ale and imperial stout to mature to maximum tastiness.)

Thanks!

Jen

The malt has already been boiled. Mainly what you are after with the boil is hop utilization and sterilizsation. It sounds like the recipe assumes a fairly low gravity during the boil to get the correct amount of hop utilization. I assume there are steeping grains in the kit, right? Or, I suppose the other possibility is that the it's using a hopped wort extract and there are no hop additions in the kit...

Hi Jen and welcome!

Two thoughts:

1. Late addition extract brewing is a trusted technique. It gives you a lighter color and reduces the chances of carmelization, which is a greater risk in partial boil extract brewing. But, you don't add *all* the extract at the end - you need some wort to fully utilize the hops during the boil. Is this a partial mash recipe?

2. You might give the folks at Austin a call - they seem straight forward and helpful.

Good luck with your brew!

Thanks for the reply.

Yes, there are steeping grains, and bittering hops that go in at the beginning of the boil (-60 min) as well as additional hops at -15 minutes.