beersmith vs brewersfriend

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dlampen45

Reaction score
I wrote up an ipa recipe i want to try soon on brewers friend a week or so ago and it came out to 74 Ibu. Just downloaded beersmith mobile 2.0 and plugged in the same recipe and came to 56 Ibu. Everything else is identical and i made sure those are both tinseth. Any ideas?

Too many variables... AA% on hops as phug stated. Also, boil volume and boil gravity have a significant effect on utilization.

I have been using Brewer's Friend for several months (about 20 batches). Being the analytical type, I built my own spreadsheet to validate its calculations and tailor things to my needs. The module for IBU/Tinseth that I built from online references matches BF within 1 IBU. So they are doing it right.

I've been using Brewer's Friend for a couple years and most of my beers can hit the numbers right on. I tried to switch one recipe to beersmith and it was no where near. So I tend to favor Brewer's Friend and realize there is some difference somewhere between the two.

One issue I have with BeerSmith is that there are just too many personal variables to populate, and it's very easy to miss one. I tried it for a while (side by side with BF) and found myself constantly in a situation of "Now what value could possibly be making this not look right?" I usually found it, but to me brewing software needs to enable the task and not dominate it. Too many numerical fields constantly in front of you; too many values pre-populated with amounts not relevant to my setup; too many hidden variables to search for and correct.

BF is not perfect either, but I seem to prefer its UI and have learned how to spec a recipe to match my version of reality (most of the time!).