Server question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kass_Brauhaus

Reaction score
Ok, so not even the right group to be asking the question, but I'm sure someone here knows.

I have an old P2 that I'm putting Linux on and want to make a server. Comcast hasn't changed my IP address in years (even though I'm "dynamic") so I want to host my own little webpage. I'm sure 6 people will view it so I'm not worried too much about performance/getting my IP switched on me.

Is there a good tutorial somewhere on how to set all this up? What version of Linux I should put on there, etc.? Despite writing software for a living (I don't know when and how that happened), I'm a complete noob when it comes to this stuff.

Thanks.

You want to put Linux on it, but don't know which flavor? I'm assuming you're doing this just to tinker? FWIW, you can also use dynamic DNS to host a webpage, even if your IP did change it would still follow.

I use SLES at work, RHEL occasionally, and Ubuntu if I can get away with it. There are a ton more distros that I don't/never use, but each one has a strength or purpose.

Out of all of those, for personal stuff, I prefer Ubuntu since it is pretty easy, very functional, well supported, and quick for most things. Have some fun!

I personally like Ubuntu server edition, especially the latest version. You can opt to install the desktop environment if you like, or stick with the command line (I would, espcially with a simple web server). Also, there is a Dynamic IP program in there as well that will keep track of your IP address if it changes, and tie it to your domain name. Can't remember right now which one it is, but give me a minute and I'll post it.