Lots of questions......

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

floridabwoy

Reaction score
I got a mr. beer for a wedding present and Ive gotten really into
the recepies for making different flavor beers. I used the instructions
using mr. beer but I added a can of pureed pinaple a cup of mollases
and a half cup of brown sugar. It has been fermenting for twe weeks
and I am set to bottle today....

Ok.... i tried a sip in a shotglass and it seems bitter. The color and texture
is good but bitter. When I add sugar to carbonate will it sweeten the beer?
Is it safe to drink after carbonation? This is my first batch so im no scientist.

Where is the best place to buy bottles, caps and a capping press?

I want to make a pomegrate beer next. I hop to get this sorted.

No, bottling sugar won't sweeten the beer, unless you use way too much, then you risk creating bottle bombs. If you want to sweeten the batch, you need to add unfermentable sugar, like splenda, then carbonate normally avoiding schrapnel.

floridabwoy said:
...Where is the best place to buy bottles, caps and a capping press?

Look for a local Beer and Wine making store in a metro area nearby.

Sounds like you're eager to brew more. I'd say you've already outgrown the Mr. Beer. THat kit gets a lot of homebrewers started...but people quickly graduate to the next step which is not that expensive.

Spend some time at the following sites:

www.howtobrew.com
www.midwestsupplies.com
www.austinhomebrew.com

Like anything...the more you linger around, the more you'll learn.