Film on top of beer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

aartese

Reaction score
I cracked open my first homebrew today! It is a 1 gallon batch of irish red from northern brewer. As of today, the beer has been bottled for one week.

There is some sort of film or debris floating on top of the beer. Anyone know what this could be? The beer tastes and smells ok at first but noticed a little bit of sour or tart as it warmed up.

1bZ2hVIh.jpg

I'm far from an expert on contamination, but I can say I've never seen that on my beer. The sour/tart taste worries me, too. I hope somebody more knowledgeable can answer.

Only one bottle so far? If it's a contamination, it might be confined to one or two bottles that didn't quite get cleaned properly. What was your fermentation schedule like? How long was it in the carboy/bucket? See anything on the surface at that time?

Open another and see what it looks and tastes like.

Yeah Just one since it was my one week check after bottling. The bottles were brand new and I rinsed them using a bottle blaster and then sanitized using a vinator with star san. Fermentation was 2 weeks in primary and then bottled. It was very aggressive for about a day and then died down. There was no film on top of the beer in the primary jug.

Mixed easy clean in 1 gallon jug. Then poured it into a pan with all the other equipment (siphon, tube, airlock, cap, scissor, yeast packet). Easy clean is what northern Brewer included in the starter kit. It says it is sodium carbonate peroxyhydrate. How does that compare to other products I hear talked about a lot (pbw, star san, etc)?

I used Starsan on everything. Even in bottles. Just dumped out and shook each one just before filling each one. Very happy with results