Holiday Spiced Apple or Pumpkin Ale Suggestions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

permo

Reaction score
I just started brewing and actually just racked my first ever brew to secondary today :mug::mug: It's a Kolsch and it already tastes good and my ending gravity is perfecto! 1.012.

My wife and family are very cinical about homebrews and my newfound hobby. It is my plan to suprise my family around the holiday time with an impressive and very palatable, to those who aren't true beer lovers, holiday brew.

Most of the recipes I come across are darker amber style ales with higher alcholol contents. I am looking to brew something lighter. I was thinking about a honey ale, and adding # chopped apples to the boil, removing them and racking to primary. I was then planning on adding whole nutmeg, cloves and cinnamon sticks in addition to a gallon of cider to secondary.

Do you think this is a good plan?

Does anybody have any great recipes along these lines that I could try?

almost forgot, I am an extract brewer.

I can tell you that apples in the boil (especially just 1lb.) will do just about nothing for the beer. Apple is a very delicate flavor that will pretty much disappear in your boil. Otherwise, sounds interesting.

I made a typo, I was going to add 5# apples to the boil, likely a tart yellow/gold apple. If this is an exercise in futility I am wondering what would be a good way to impart the flavor/bitterness/aromo of fresh apples to the finished product?

Maybe get my hands on a bunch of small crabapples, tis the season!

rsmith179, I plan on adding 1 gallon unpastuerized cider to the secondary fermenter, in additon to 4 gallons of the fully fermented beer.