REALLY itchy from the beer bug bite..

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GloHoppa

Reaction score
I have been spending the majority of my free time reading this website over the past few days and a couple things have been made clear. First, I am really stoked I got the Mr. Beer kit, otherwise I would have never stumbled across this forum. Second, Ive decided the money I was going to use to get a Wii might be better off spent stepping up to a real brew kit...

Here's where you guys and gals step in: If I had a Mr. Beer kit, and also had roughly 200 bucks to spend on some brew goodies, what should I buy?

Keep in mind I am a huge brewing rookie, but an experienced beer drinker (who says you dont learn anything after 7 semesters of college?!) and the more I read about the brew process the more I am addicted to it!:rockin:

ideas?:mug:

My recommendation...buy the Wii, beer takes a while, and if you don't have something better to do, you'll get addicted to this web site like the rest of us. My SWMBO is about to take my computer away from me I think. LOL;)

Actually, I would get a starter kit that came with:
Ale Pale or 6.5 gal carboy
5 gal. carboy
bottling bucket
autosyphon
hydrometer
bottle capper

Then I would invest in:
an extra 5 gal. carboy
extra air locks
Star San
Bottles
and a couple of beer kits

If you shop around, you should be able to get all this for $200. Then if there's $ left over, buy some beer, it's gonna be a few weeks before that MR. Beer batch is ready.

Also, if you haven't already, I sugest reading http://www.howtobrew.com and a good starter kit can be found at http://www.leeners.com

Welcome to the community!

Jesse17 said: