Do you need to let sanitized bottles dry?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

linusstick

Reaction score
I've never used Star San to sanitize before and started wondering. I sanitized the bottles by having my girlfriend dunk the in Star San solution (one liter swing tops), pour out and give to me and then I filled them. While the solution was poured out it definitely wasn't dried and still probably had some small bit left in it. I didn't think it mattered but wanted to get your thoughts. I always thought after you sanitize them it was best to fill quickly so nothing would contaminate them

Well you have to wait the couple mins or so to let the sanitizer do its thing but I often fill my car boys and use my equipment still wet from sanitizer. I don't have a puddle in the bottom but... as long as you keep your bottles upside down, like on a bottling tree, you should be fine. There is no need to rush it you'll be good, even if there right side up... but yes I haven't had any issues with equipment and bottles etc being wet with sanitizer. Palmer says in his book that he has purposely filled a carboy that had all the foam still from the san star and it turned out fine. I've done the same and all was good.

If the bottles are still wet with your sanitizing solution, any contaminates that come into contact with it should die.

I usually fill my sink with sanitizing solution. Then I rack the solution thru my racking cane, tubing, and bottle filler until all my bottles are filled. That way everything gets thoroughly sanitized. Then scrub each with a bottle brush for a few seconds each. There's usually enough solution left to do my bottling bucket, spigot, caps, etc. Then dump everything and you're ready to go.