How sanitary/aseptic are we?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

billdog

Reaction score
Well, I am a microbiologist by trade, so I might know a thing or two. On brew day when the wort is ready I sanitize just like anyone else I suppose. I'll use a cleaner then a sanitizer. While I'm doing it I'm always wearing non-latex gloves and I have a spray bottle filled with 70% alcohol. I use the alcohol to sanitize my gloves for final prep of all fermenting equiptment, funnel, bubler syphon. I've never had a contaminated batch, and I still consume while doing all this. Does anyone else out there take similar measures?

I know yeast is a hearty SOB, but I don't want to run the risk of introducing any anerobes or spoilage organisms into my batches.

Thoughts? You can tell me I'm a crazy anal SOB if you want, I don't mind.

:tank::rockin:

I usually wear non-latex gloves also when handling sanitized stuff. I dip my gloved hands in Starsan before handling stuff.

Sanitize, not sterilize.

As long as the bacteria count is low enough, the yeast and hops can handle them.

Still better safe than sorry.

;)

One thing I do is test my sanitation by taking a little of the pre-pitched wort (500ml or so ) in a sanitizes flask covered with foil, and set it beside my carboy in the fermentation cabinet. if it takes less than a week to start having noticeable activity...Houston we have a problem.

You're saying you spray things with isopropyl alcohol? Why not use starsan or something you wouldn't mind having in your beer?