All-Grain Brewing Vs. Extract Brewing

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Which Do You Prefer?

• All-Grain Brewing Only

• Extract Brewing Only

• Extract With Specialty Grains Only

• All of the above! Depending On What I'm Making.

Results are only viewable after voting.

5gBrewer

Reaction score
Papazian makes some great points in his books about the pros & cons to both AG & E/SG Brewing, and even admits that AG is not the end-all-be-all of beer making techniques; E/SG can make an equal and sometimes better brew.

We all have our opinions on this one, so let 'em fly, but try to explain your responces to the poll.

5gB

I have done one all grain and mostly PM and extract. Depending on the time that I have to brew, I will do either or. Although I am still learning the AG stuff too:D

Im just breaking into AG. I have done two extract only batches, plenty of extract with steeping grains and around 15 partial mashes.

I think from a recipe formulating standpoint AG wins hands down, also from the standpoint of saving money (after the initial equipment cost).

Extract comes out ahead for a nice easy learning curve, and for saving time on brew day.

Ive made some great beer, and some not so great beer with extract, and I imagine that will be the same with AG.

I voted all of the above, although I doubt I will ever do another extract only brew.

- magno

Nothing wrong with extract, and lots of people are content making very good extract brews for years and years and years.

With that said, I have never ONCE heard anyone who "graduated" to AG brewing ever, ever say that they regretted it. I know some AG folks will continue to make an extract brew on occassion, but I don't know of anyone who has ever gone back to extract.