Stumps Clone build underway

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dfess1

Reaction score
Sunday 5/22 (yes, we made it through the rapture), I started to learn to weld. After running some sample beads on a piece of scrap, I graduated to these two pieces.

firstWelds.jpg

They didn't come out too bad for only a half hour in!

Then it was onto the fire grate. This is a shot of it still "warm". Tomorrow morning I'll be back out to grind down the welds. These aren't quite as nice as the test pieces, but Dad says they should hold no problem. Maybe once they are ground down, they'll look a little nicer.

fireGrate.jpg

Should start on the shelving tomorrow, or possibly the frame, not sure yet. We'll see, but I"ll be updating this (hopefully daily, all depends on how tired I am, and whether I remember to take pics along the way).

Ok, time for an update. We have the frame welded up, and the angle iron for the trays. I will be welding up the expanded steel for the trays as time permits, and we aren't working on the frame itself. We're still waiting for the firebox to come back from the fabricator, as Dad doesn't have the equipment to weld 1/2" plate.

Here's a shot of the frame:

frameHeadOn.jpg

The lower piece in the front (the really crappy looking one) is just tacked to hold it square. We are keeping the bottom support to do towards the end so that we can get in and weld in the cook chamber skins. This way it isn't completely in the way.

Saturday we pick up a trailer and try to modify that to suit our needs.

Ok, It's tues 5/31, and we got some more accomplished this weekend.