Beginner's Questions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bharr025

Reaction score
I am new to the brewing game and I just have a couple of questions. First, what is the best way to remove the hot break from wort after my boil has cooled? Also, I'm using a 6.5 G carboy for my Primary, what is the best way to aerate my wort? Since I'm not using a bucket, it seems a bit tricky to aggressively pour my wort into the fermenter. Thanks in advance for your advice!!

1. Use an auto syphon or a funnel with a strainer to get the wort out of the kettle. This will remove as much break as you can. 2. The funnel method also provides some aeration. Once inside the carboy, give it a good rocking back and forth making sure the liquid shakes up

Same here, when moving my wort from the kettle to the carboy I use a siphon with a paint strainer on it. This helped in aerating the wort before I bought an O2 bottle.

I don't know if any body else does this, in fact I never heard anyone but me and my son doing it. I don't like the idea of shaking a glass carboy filled with 5 gallons. I put an auto siphon into the carboy. Then attach a tube to other end and stick it back into the carboy as a return. Don't submerge end of tube in wort, just stick in carboy towards top. You can hold it in place as you pump it 50 to 100 times. I have not had a problem with aeration yet.

For removing the hot break, you can stir the wort for 2-3 minutes and get a good vortex going, then let it sit for a few minutes and then syphon the wort, from the side of the pot. The vortex causes the hot break to settle in the center of the pot.

As for aeration, shaking or pouring will do the job.

For aeration I use the aquarium stone, regulator and 02 bottle. This is the William's brewing version;

S78_1_.jpg