Garden hose water... how bad is it?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

starrfish

Reaction score
I'm not a beginner but I've been thinking about this for a LONG TIME and I'm sure others have too, that's why I'm posting it here. we're all new'bs no matter how long we've been brewing.

I brew outside as I've gone to all grain, HOWEVER I rent a house that has no outside tap. Carrying a big 10 gallon thin walled economy stainless pot with 8+ gallons of tap water out of the kitchen across a small deck, down 3 steps and out 15' to brew area is a PIMA! (and my hernia suffers later) while scrubbing out brew pot last weekend I thought... how bad could the garden hose be? I've marked my pot to 9 gallons, so much faster if I could just run the garden hose to it~.

then I remembered a few posts here, rubbery flavors, non food safe materials, mom saying "Don't Drink from the HOSE! You'll get sick!" Blah Blah Blah. (lol I never got sick... water tasted funny, but meh, I was a kid.

That being said. what about a well flushed garden hose ran for 10 min + how long is it really in the hose? a few seconds at best?

What a bout one of those clear or green coiled hoses dedicated just to brew water and not left outside to bake in the sun?

thoughts. I'm liking the dedicated coil hose idea, don't think I want to use my 3 year old garden hose. If I can find clear again to monitor algae growth if any.

My 'Hose Water Hefe' never gets any complaints! (for real though, I bought a new hose and use it exclusively for brewing. Our tapwater here is decent. What the hell, ya know?!)

I started off using bottled water in big jugs, but got tired of it, got lazy and used hose water. I'm no BJCP judge, but I can't tell a difference.