Is it worth it to make a starter now if I want to brew tonight?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

natewv

Reaction score
Sorry if this should have gone to the noob forum...I'm on my 3rd batch, 2nd with a liquid yeast vial...the first did it's job with very very little (only 8 hours on day 2) "noticeable" fermentation. I know noticeable is relative and at times there are no airlock bubbles, but anyway...

I am not good with planning and I hoped to brew tonight, with liquid yeast from a Bell's 2 hearted ale clone extract kit from AHS that i have had in my basement (not refrigerated but below room temp) for almost a month. If I made a starter now (9AM), would it have any positive effect being pitched say around 9PM?

umm, no clue. I was just going to follow directions from somewhere...like this

https://www.homebrewtalk.com/f39/how-make-yeast-starter-pictorial-76101/

Why is that important?

I believe it's 1.060. I had to email AHS to get that information. I'm not sure why I should have had to do that, or why the anticipated OG has anything to do with whether or not I make a starter...which I thought was just to get the yeast a-working.? I'm not questioning your questions...well I guess I am...but I wonder why they would have an affect on whether or not i should make a starter this morning?

You should be fine without a starter. But if you want to be safe and make sure the yeast is viable you could make one. From now to tonight is enough time for the starter to do its thing.

If you don't make one, the worst that could happen is you don't see much activity and you have to go buy some fresh yeast from your lhbs.

umm, no clue. I was just going to follow directions from somewhere...like this