2 weeks in primary vs 1

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

skyzo

Reaction score
OK so I am still a newbie brewer, but I've been reading a ton on here, and searched quite a few threads, and saw that quite a few of you let the brew sit in the primary fermenter for 2 weeks, and others go 1 or so in the primary and then a 2 in the secondary. I was thinking about letting my cream ale go 2 in the primary and straight to bottling and letting the bottles age for 2-3 weeks. Would that be OK?
Thanks

You will be fine. Go longer if you want. If you search for extended primary you will find that many people here will leave a beer in primary for much longer than 2 weeks. I currently have an IPA that has been in primary for over 5 weeks and I might finally bottle it tonight.

Number of days are arbitrary when it comes to fermenting/conditioning. As you move on in beer making you will start to learn that you go by feel and looks and of course your hydrometer. Typically 1-2 weeks is far less that what is needed for a beer to clear.

The word secondary is kinda mis-leading too, you basically want to clear your beer as much as possible before putting it in your serving container whether that is bottles or a keg.

With your cream ale that may be a standard one, I would say go 3-4 weeks in the primary and then crash cool it for several days by putting it into a fridge or something, then transfer to a bottling bucket trying to leave as much trub behind as possible, then leave that in the fridge for a couple of hours to let anything else settle then bottle. You can put your priming sugar in your bottling bucket before transferring so it mixes well too.