HELP: Immersion Cooler Info

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

drerock

Reaction score
Hello all,

I am just getting into home brewing and happy to find such a large community devoted to such.

I have a request for anyone who has brewed with an immersion cooler.

I am a student at the University of Florida, and for my Heat and Mass Transfer class we have to do a project. My professor agreed to my idea of working out the specifics of heat transfer involved in wort chilling.

Of importance to heat transfer calculations is the thermal conductivity of the fluid involved. In my case, the wort.

Anyone here who has brewed or is going to soon brew using a wort chiller, I would greatly appreciate some measurements concerning the chilling process.

In my project, I am basing my calculations on an immersion style chiller like this:
immersion-chiller-tubing-l.jpg

Hopefully, the one most commonly used will be of 3/8" copper tubing 25' in length.

Here is what I need:

Temperature of the wort before and after chilling.
Temperature of the cooling liquid (water) at inlet and outlet.
Total volume of water used in the process
Time taken
Volume of wort chilled

From what I have read, I hope to see a pretty standard setup of 5 gallons of wort cooked in a stainless steel pot similar in style to these:
megapots.jpg

Using these data, I should have enough information to get a rough estimate of the thermal conductivity of wort (which admittedly varies greatly in content among different types of beer).

Now, I understand that the immersion chiller design isn't the most effective, I'm just trying to get a more accurate estimate of the thermal properties of the wort itself.