Increasing alcohol percentage.. Please help!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wishmaster84

Reaction score
I am new to brewing and brewed my first batch of beer. It was a True brew IPA kit. I followed the instructions exactly. The beer came out well (Color,taste and carbonation) but I swear there was little to no alcohol content (I drank 12 and not even a buzz)

The kit contained the following:
Unhopped Amber Malt Extract-2 cans
Crystal Grain- 1lb
Pilgrim Hop Pellets- 1 oz
First Gold Hop Pellets-1 oz
Heavy Toast Oak Chips- 1/2 oz
Ale Yeast- 1 pack
Priming Sugar 5 oz

The instructions said to do the following:

Place cans of malt extract in boiling pot (To soften the syrup)
Place 1-1 1/2 gallons of water in the brewpot and bring to boil.
Turn heat off. Place grains in steeping bag and steep in hot water for 20-30 minutes. Remove grains and discard spent grains, Heat water again to near boiling. Turn heat off stir in 2 cans of malt extract and add Pilgrim Hop Pellets. Stir until dissolved and return heat to boil. Watch for boil over (Of course) until foaming stops. Then boil for 45 minutes, adding the First Gold Gold Hop Pellets for the final 1-2 minutes of the boil. Place 3 gallons of cold water in the fermenter and slowly pour in hot mixture. Fill with additional cold water up to 5 gallons. Steam sanatize Oak chips and add to fermenter.