Easiest Recipe for beginner

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cbsdizzo

Reaction score
Hello, im new to this. Today I started a batch of sugar wine! Does anyone have any step-by-step recipes to make beer, or any othe rkind of alcohol? I would greatly appreciate it... Also can they be budget oriented please?

Check howtobrew.com on methods. Cheap beer can be made by purchasing the beer-in-a-can kits and adding lots of table sugar. Any food grade bucket can be used for fermentation, although if you use old pickle buckets, I would suggest making Belgians.

Extract brewing is the least expensive method, unless you are making a lot of beer. In that case, you'll find all-grain brewing much more expensive. AG ingredients are cheaper, but the equipment is more expensive.

Hey cbs. I'm also a newbie when it comes to homebrewing and right now am in the experimenting stage and just trying to refine my sanitizing and brewing procedures more than anything else.

I've made three batches so far using 5 gallon buckets from Lowe's, clear vinyl tubing from Lowe's and malt extract (unhopped) that we can buy locally here in our grocery stores.

The first batch was only a 20 oz bottle, so I only made a 3 gallon batch. Using 3 cups of sugar and boiling for 15 minutes, I put it in Primary for 2 weeks and then bottled it for 3 more before starting to drink it. I really was thrilled I actually did it and was impressed with the results. It was light, but had a great smell and taste and a pretty good kick to it. ( I don't know the alcohol content as I don't have a hydrometer yet)