Long Term Costs of Maintaining Fermentation Temps

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chefkeith

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I haven't seen any detailed discussions about the long term costs of maintaining fermentation temps. I'm specifically interested in using stainless steel conical fermenters, and I would like to choose the best system for heating and cooling that uses the least amount of energy as possible.

Does anybody have any insight or knowledge about the matter? Would a refrigerator use more energy than wrapping the fermenter with copper and pumping liquids through it? I realize it depends on the wattage of the fridge and the wattage of the A/C unit, but I also can't calculate the effectiveness of each solution because I have no experience with them. Or maybe there is another method that is even more efficient. I would prefer not to hide the conical in a fridge, but I would if that's the most energy efficient solution.

I realize many homebrewers aren't concerned with how much energy they use, but I prefer to conserve energy where possible. I'm not concerned with the initial investment costs, only long term efficiency.

Thoughts?

Thanks!

What is the ambient temperature and how much does it fluctuate? Ales or Lagers?

I would definitely think you would be concerned about initial investment costs versus l-t efficiency. Digging a cellar versus buying a fridge...

I've got an upright freezer that I use for fermentation and lagering... I know that to maintain 34F at a 1 degree differential that it takes 16-20 minutes of cooling power every 2-3 hours. I'll have to throw my kill-a-watt on the freezer and see how many kWh it actually uses over a week.