total newbie. 2 q's

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bringitonhome

Reaction score
Hi there-
So, I've decided I'm going to take up this interesting hobby. Always wanted to try home brewing. I actually did one of those Mr. Beer things I got as a gift some years ago, but thought that was pretty silly. I mean, I didn't really "do" anything - those kits are kind of like making instant iced tea. anyway, i digress. I think i fit the profile pretty good - i'm a scienc-y, how-does-it-work type of guy, plus im a big DIY-er. Most of all - I love beer! I bought palmer's book, been reading through it and am all ready to go - i just have 2 questions:

1. So it seems i've picked the absolute worst time to start home brewing with this hops shortage. Who would've thought? Is it possible to get what I need for a beginner to brew a few batches?

2. What kind of equipment should I get? should I buy one of those kits? I have to admit, it chaps my a$$ pretty good to be paying a huge markup for stuff that is repurposed and slapped with some cheesy un-authentic looking logo ;) I mean - it seems, for the most part, you can get most of the equipment at a hardware store. Also - I see myself eventually going all-grain. Is there anything I should buy now, that I won't have to replace if I go that route?

Thanks! Looking forward to participating in the forum!

The hop shortage wont effect your ability to still brew great beers, theres still a good abundance of hops out there to get your feet wet.