Is my yeast any good?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kulprit

Reaction score
Ok so total newb here. About to do the first batch today.

Went down to my basement and got the extract kits. Like a dummy I had no idea the yeast needed to be refrigerated - doh. Honestly I never really thought about it and it was never indicated on the larger packaging - just the little vial and the smack pack.

Anyways it's been in my basement for probably about a month. No sun light- but the temperature has probably been between 60-65f.

Is it worth even trying to make these batches?

I had planned to make a starter last night for both batches - unfortuntely my new puppy decided he needed an emergency trip to the vet last night so I wasn't able to do that. I just broke the smack pack now (8am) and we hope to start brewing at 10am.

What do you suggest?

FYI - there is no local store in my area - I have searched and searched.
FYI2- both extract kits were purchased from AHBS

If you need to brew then go for it.
If not spend the time and make a starter and see what happens then brew.

It depends if you want to risk wasting time and money.

If you don't mind the risk or need/want to brew then go for it.

Good luck.

Unfortunately due to the holidays we are only able to do it today - otherwise it will be another week or two.

So what if I just go ahead and brew - pitch the yeast directly. If no activity then would i be able to just order new yeast and pitch it into the wort or will it be too late and be un-usable.

I dont really mind risking the money - it's mostly the time and disappointment :)

Great!

It's so frustrating that something so stupid and easy to avoid might ruin our first batch before we even start - lol. Meager beginnings for sure.