What have you leaned about beer since you started brewing?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Octang

Reaction score
I have learned that I enjoy heavy beers, particularly stouts, since I began brewing my own beer. Recently I have really begun exploring the various variety of stouts and I love to compare my creations to commercial varieties.

What have you learn about beer, or your appreciation/view of it since you started brewing?

I've learned that IPA's are best for hop addiction, which I unfortunately am afflicted with.

That and my ABV tolerance has gone through the roof. My scrawny ass has outdrunk a 220 lb. co-worker of mine. :p

Honestly, I didn't know anything about beer before I started brewing.

Probably the most non-brewers will know about beer is whether or not they think they like a few colors of beer.

I realized that I have been missing out on the flavor of beer!!!

It used to be if I bought and 18 pack, that meant sit down and drink 18 beers.
Now, I really like to drink beer...it's not just for show. I enjoy the flavor and the look and smell.

That I love IPAs

I didnt know ANYTHING about beer when I started brewing

1. Homebrewing is a lot of work.

2. By and large, I like the beer I brew.

3. Drink; back to work.

{There's a syllogism there somewhere......}

That you have to be careful with homebrew or else you can gain TONS of weight.

That if you ration and have self control you can get a KILLER buzz working on 2 homebrews. This is the best!!!

I really knew nothing about beer when I started. I started 3/4 days after I turned 21, and before that I didn't even know what an IPA was...