High FG?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wingy

Reaction score
Hi all, this is my first time making cider and I'm a bit concerned about my high FG (1.007-1.009) after 3.5 weeks in the fermenter. It tastes great so I'm not worried about infection or anything, but I'd prefer not to have my bottles kersplode when I add the priming sugar. SG has been stable for 5 days.

I used 5.0 gal of apple juice, 0.5 lb of table sugar, and added a dry yeast packet without rehydrating (I know, I know...). Yeast was a white wine yeast, possibly Montpellier (? Don't have my notebook in front of me) and OG was around 1.055(ish). I'd like it to finish around 1.000 or 0.998 just to get that extra bit of dryness (going for a lower ABV Apfelwein for summer).

It was only my second time throwing something into a fermenter, so I didn't aerate as well as I should have. Is my fermentation stuck due to poor aeration/pitching yeast without rehydrating? What's the best way to rouse the yeast? Or should I just RDWHAHB? Thanks!

Hi all, this is my first time making cider and I'm a bit concerned about my high FG (1.007-1.009) after 3.5 weeks in the fermenter. It tastes great so I'm not worried about infection or anything, but I'd prefer not to have my bottles kersplode when I add the priming sugar. SG has been stable for 5 days.

I used 5.0 gal of apple juice, 0.5 lb of table sugar, and added a dry yeast packet without rehydrating (I know, I know...). Yeast was a white wine yeast, possibly Montpellier (? Don't have my notebook in front of me) and OG was around 1.055(ish). I'd like it to finish around 1.000 or 0.998 just to get that extra bit of dryness (going for a lower ABV Apfelwein for summer).