Smaller test batches

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

codeblue2k

Reaction score
How many of you guys run smaller (~2 gallon) test batches before going for a full 5 gallon batch? If so what equipment do you use, the same 5 gallon carboy or something smaller?

I like the 2.5g brews. I have used my full-size bucket for it, despite the extra headspace. One benefit of that is: reduced need for blowoff tubes. ;)

I don't do it for test batches, though -- I just don't drink much beer compared to how much I want to brew.

I use my MrBeer as my test kitchen - but generally only if I want to try something completely different, without interrupting my pipeline.

Since im just getting started with brewing and wanting to try batches I thought I would run smaller batches on the first runs and then move it up to the 5 gallon when i find ones I like.

You're the second thread today....There is a ton of small batch threads on here, including those in the similar thread box below.

You can brew any sized batch you want. I do a lot of 2.5 gallon recipe test batches. You can even do 1 gallon AG brews. The basic brewing guys call that the six pack brew.

A recipe is scalable, so a 1 gallon recipe is 1/5th of a 5 gallon one....a 2.5 gallon one is half the ingredients.

2.5 gallons is one case of beer.

I use my normal 5 gallon mash tun for most of them, but I do a lot of Experiments, test recipes, or beers that I know I won't need/want more than a case of.

I sometimes use an unmodified 2 gallon cooler for a lot of my small btaches it holds up to 4 pounds of grain.

I just us a folding steamer in the bottom along with a grain bag. Just break off or unscrew the center post.

steamer.jpg