RIMS/HERMS brewers: crush, speed, and manifolds?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bakins

Reaction score
Questions for all you RIMS/HERMS brewers (or anyone who recirculates):

-What size crush you using?
-How fast are your recirculating?
-What are you using: braid, false bottom, manifold, etc?

I've been doing RIMS for a few months now. My first few batches were stock BC crush (.039) and a few kit brews (bad crushes). I'd been using a false bottom and putting my grain in a paint strainer bag (it made clean up somewhat easier). So, I started experimenting. One batch I tried "normal" - .039, FB, no-bag - horribly stuck had to babysit it and stir like crazy every 5 minutes. Tried double crushing - same deal. Tried a SS braid - same deal.

So today, I try my FB with a .030 crush - good grief, stuck like cement.

I generally open the valve about 1/4 of the way and then slowly open it up. But some of these have been getting stuck at 1/4 open.

I know I've been changing alot of variable, but the beer has generally turned out well. As cheesy as it is the bag worked for me, it was just a big pain to stir at dough-in.

Thanks in advanced.

What liquor/grist ratio are you using?

Lots of cereal grains (wheat etc.)?

Mash tun arrangement (cooler, keggle, etc.)?

Any other details?

I use a converted keggle with a false bottom and can recirculate a standard store crush (~0.039) at near full speed (>1gpm) with my march pump. If I am using a lot of wheat, I either need a good protein rest, a decoction, or rice hulls.

What liquor/grist ratio are you using?

Lots of cereal grains (wheat etc.)?

Mash tun arrangement (cooler, keggle, etc.)?

Any other details?

Sorry, thought about those after I posted:

-Generally 2qt/pound
-No. Today I had 1/2 lb wheat.