I am thinking of teaching a homebrewing course any suggestions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Donasay

Reaction score
I am thinking of proposing a beginner's homebrewing course to the local adult education center, it might be something worth doing and could bring a whole bunch of new people into the hobby. Does anyone here have experience teaching a course like this and or ideas about what to cover.

The courses they offer are either 1 night lectures or between 4 and 10 weeks with meetings once a week for an hour or two. They have cooking facilities with large stoves etc. I would need to do at least 5 or 6 weeks of classes so that the students can brew either the first or second class and have finished beer by the last class.

I am an adjunct professor at a local community college (sociology), so I know how to teach, but the problem I am coming up with is that a beginners course in homebrewing might not take 6 to 12 hours of class time, and by that point you would get into some pretty advanced stuff that I don't have the best background to lecture about. But I do think it is of utmost importance to have the students brew and bottle some beers then share with the class so they know what the beers come out like and get a feel for the process.

Any recommendations or ideas? If any new brewers want to chime in and talk about things they wish that someone else had told them prior to starting, please let me know.

I can't seem to find it, but there have been a couple of guys here that have done this. One even had a whole class schedule and write-up. From what I remember, there wasn't much interest, but it's probably worth a shot.