Blue Corn Clone

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mbreen01

Reaction score
Hello everyone,
I was wondering if anyone is familiar with the Blue Corn Brewery in Santa Fe, New Mexico. They have a High Altitude Pale Ale that I really enjoy and I was hoping that someone might have a recipe that is similar. They also have an American style honey wheat beer that's pretty tasty. I'm fairly new to homebrewing and have done "mini-mash" and extract brewing; so recipes that are not all-grain would be much appreciated. Thanks for your help.
Cheers,
Marc.

Call up the guys at Chama River in Albuquerque (formerly Blue Corn in Albuquerque) and ask them. I bet they would gladly give you some hints. Or ask the brewers in Santa Fe. Generally they will be helpful, at least in giving you an idea of what they use (types of hops and grains) and amounts (OG and IBUs).

If you get that info, I will be glad to play around and see what makes sense. It would also be a good excuse to go have a taste to refresh my memory.

A lot of the area brewers stop in to the il vicino tap room from time to time, that's one place to get information. Call blue corn in santa fe and ask for daniel, he may know, he's the current brewer and of course call chama and talk with ted, he's the brewer their. your best bet is to get out there and drink some beers, ask some questions, do some networking, good luck! Also, their are 2 homebrew clubs that i know of, the dukes of ale and the tapheads.

After talking with Ted Rice (Chama River Brewing Co.), I modified a suggestion of his to extract form (I'm not yet at the all-grain level of brewing). This recipe is earmarked as my next batch.

High Altitude Pale Ale Clone

1/2 lb Crystal 75L
1/4 lb Crystal 55L
6.5 lb M&F light DME