First AG - got recipe - need procedure

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

shaggynuts24

Reaction score
I have never done All Grain before, for the partials i have done, I would heat my water up in a 6-quart stock pot on the stove, and steep 3 pounds of grain at a time. I have been reading up on AG as much as I can.

recipe:

6.0 lbs Maris-Otter
1.5 lbs Munich Malt (20L)
1.5 lbs Flaked Barley
1.0 lbs Cara-Pils
1.0 lbs Caramel Crystal Malt (40L)
0.5 lbs Roasted Barley

2.0 oz EKG 5.0% - bittering
1.0 oz Fuggles 4.5% - aroma

procedure?

build MLT
pre-heat MLT (boiling water to heat the cooler? and then drain?)

add grains to MLT (all of my grains or do i mash them all seperate?)
add strike water (assuming 10 degree's higher than target temp?)
mix up grains and hot water for maximum contact
let them soak (60 minutes? 90 minutes?)

drain (take first runnings and put back in to be drained -- 1 gallon-ish?)
rinse with hot water (170 degree's? is this like mash out?) until it comes out clear

additional questions:

lower temps for more fermentability - higher temps for more body - what is the middleman temp to get a full body without too much sweatness?

... i am sure i will come up with more questions

.... i have read a lot of the links listed, and i think i understand most of it for the most part .. sorry for the questions, i just want to make sure I understand it, there was a lot of information to digest

looks like your procedure is pretty good. I would put the water in the MLT first, then add the grains (yes all grain at once), then mix together.

Also look around for a temperature calculator online. You put in the temp of the grain and your target temp and it will tell you how hot the water needs to be to achieve that target.