Bottle a few and keg the rest?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

peacenwaves

Reaction score
Has anyone tried bottling a few beers , for portability, and kegging the rest?

I was thinking about bottling 10 or so, and then either naturally carbing or force carbing (kinda am torn on which method would work best for what I want to do) the rest...

I figured if I naturally carb it, I can just prime the whole batch and be done with it (unless you need less sugar for a keg)...

If I force carb it, can I just add a tiny amount of boiled sugar water to each bottle before siphoning into them? if so, how much should I use per bottle?

Im fairly new to this, so I apologize if any of these are dumb questions haha...

Thanks so much!!

Pour carbonated or uncarbonated (w/ drops) beer from the keg tap to the bottle. Lots of threads on this.

For individual bottles you could use carb tabs (little pill/lozenges that are basically premeasured sugar designed for carbing bottles).

I agree with using the carb tabs. It's the easiest way to go. I usually brew 5.5 gallons, keg 5 gallons & bottle the last 1/2 gallon for competition entries.

I do whole batch one way or the other.

I guess you could measure 2 gallons or so and prime accordingly, bottle that, and then add the other 3 gallons.

Either way, I bottle from the keg even when I prime and bottle 5 gallons. The c02 makes everything easier.

Chances are that you have all the items needed (except maybe a small stopper) to make the DIY beer gun in the DIY section. I keg all of it and then use that method to bottle a 6er if I want to take them anywhere.