Summer Ale Style, GF

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pitbull-brewer

Reaction score
I am looking to surprise my Father-in-law and his wife, who is glutton intolerant , with a GF beer. I am very new to home brewing and dont want to screw this up. So i am looking for a the best combo of, good tasting, simple recipe, and a summer style ale. New to homebrewtalk but it is awesome thus far.

It's surprisingly difficult to screw up too badly. (Sure there's still screwups but it's usually still drinkable.) The most important thing is sanitation, cause that can trigger a beer dump. Any recipe oops tends to be drinkable (so long as you don't mix up sugar and salt).

Also, gluten free beer tends to be... difficult... flavorwise. We know it's hard to get decent beer. There's 3 that can be found regularly in the stores so we're limited there. We know that sorghum beers usually have a metallic, phenoic twang and that rice beers are kind of thin and flavorless (even with maltodextrin). (this is usually why we combine the two when we do extracts, except when we phase out sorghum completely). Usually, gluten free people will be happy with what they're given regardless (assuming that we're sure it's gluten free).

Any simple recipe beer will probably be those using a combination of those two extracts.

So the remaining question is what constitutes a summer style ale to you?