Homebrew Kicks my butt

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

abracadabra

Reaction score
Does anyone else have this experience.

I'm new to this and my total brewing experience consists of 4 AG brews.

I'm really not a beer geek, more of a gear head at this point and most of the brews I've got should be around 6% alcohol. But it just kicks my butt. I try real hard not to drink too much and to know how much I've drank but more often than not after a couple of glasses I feel like I've had to much. I've even gotten sick a couple of times because I was so high (always felt fine the next day - no
hangover.)

I can usually drink a commercial 8.8% and a 5.9% back to back on an empty stomach and just get a buzz.

What gives?

I did not do any reading with the hydrometer so I'm guessing about the % alcohol as I did a clone of SN pale ale. Could it just be a lot stronger than I think?

abracadabra said:
I did not do any reading with the hydrometer so I'm guessing about the % alcohol as I did a clone of SN pale ale. Could it just be a lot stronger than I think?

Could be you have a psychological problem with home brew. :drunk: :D

Then again, we may never know since you don't have the O.G. and F.G. of the beers.

Post the grain bills and your mashing method, and we can see what the potential O.G. would be. Also how long do you boil?

EdWort said:
Could be you have a psychological problem with home brew. :drunk: :D

Then again, we may never know since you don't have the O.G. and F.G. of the beers.

Post the grain bills and your mashing method, and we can see what the potential O.G. would be. Also how long do you boil?