Pushing the limit

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ruffcutt

Reaction score
The other day one of my brewing buddies and I where playing with his new hydrometer, when I decided to push some cider to it's limits.

The plain apple juice I started with had a gravity of 1.042, but after adding 3 cups of sugar to a gallon of the juice, the new gravity was at 1.108, with a potential alcohol content of ~15%.

I was going to only make up ~ a gallon of the stuff to try it out, but I had all the stuff out, and the juice sitting right there, and I made up 4 gallons. And pitched a fresh 5 gram pack of Red Star Champagne yeast into the mix.

I have never done anything like this before, and have no idea how is will turn out. I'm curious though what you all think it will be like. Any guesses, theories, or similar stories?

What type of sugar? Mine started at 1.102 but conked out at around 1.070 because of a stuck fermentation. It still tastes delicious, and is still sweet instead of being really bitter.

I used just plain old white cane sugar. I hope it goes all the way, because I don't like sweet cider.

You might experience a stuck ferment. Yeast don't exactly like to be dumped into a 1.100+ solution and ferment it all the way. My only experience with an "above 10%" beverage was the 10-10-10 Belgian Golden Strong. I incrementally fed the fermenter 1lb of sugar + yeast nutrient for 3 days after I reached 1.020. I also re-oxygenated on 2 of the 3 feedings. The beer was brewed in September and is still kind of hot. I did reach 1.000, which is where I intended to get. The real key to accomplishing 10%+ beers is the incremental feeding of extra sugar, a LOT of yeast (I pitched on a cake from a prior batch) and a LOT of oxygen.