Is my SCOBY okay?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

road_to_larissa

Reaction score
I'm new to brewing am unsure if this is the normal kind of stuff or the bad kind of stuff.
WrDVs.jpg

You can see that on the right-center there is a brown spot. It wasn't dry or fuzzy like mold, but it had texture to it.

The darkish spot on the upper-right is bothering me too.

Any prognosis?

It's tough to spot a problem with mold after you've removed the scoby from your fermentation jar. But just to make sure I'm on the same page with you, is the top 2/3rds of the image showing the top of the scoby, and the bottom 1/3rd showing what was the underside? If that's the case, it looks like you've got some *very* active yeast, dominating the acetobacter bacteria. Nothing terrible about that, and the relative strength of yeast vs bacteria is dependent on a lot of factors - ferment temperature, type of tea used, sugar type & content etc.

As I understand it, mold can't grow on the underside of the scoby, so the question is whether there was fuzz on that greyish spot in the upper-right before you removed the scoby from the ferment. You mentioned there was no fuzz on the brown spot in right-center, and assuming the same about the greyish spot in the upper-right, you're probably ok. That spot isn't leaning towards blue/green is it? That could be bad.