C++ Programming help

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SporkD2

Reaction score
Anyone on this board a good c++ programmer? I am currently a computer sci major and programming is hard for me to understand. I would love to have someone who I could email questions and maybe have a few chats about things that are confusing me.

Thanks

Please contact me via aim, yahoo messenger or [email protected]

For your sake, I hope that your major is focused in areas other than programming (hardware, architecture, etc). My degree is in computer science, and we really focused on code/software development. C++ is a pretty simple language. What's confusing?

You can pick my brain too.
One of the best books I have is Jamsas C/C++ programming bible. Highly recomend it.

Well my emphasis is computer networking, not programming. I have already taken the intro course and am now into the 2nd out of 3 c++ classes. Just looking for someone to answer some simple questions about the programs I have to write for when I get stuck.

For example:

I have to take a user inputted string, such as AAA765, make sure that the first three characters are uppercase (toupper) and then do a binary search from an array I have created and show a fine amount. I can do this if the user enters their license plate number as an uppercase, but if they enter lowercase, it comes back as not found.

Well to address the lower case issue.
I am using lplate as the input string
You can do something like
Code:
char *str=&lpate;
for (int i=0 : i<strlen(str) : i++)
{
  if (islower(*(str+i)))
    toupper(*(str+i));
}
Now this is C, not C++. If you're expected to use some Class and it's methods to do this we need to know what object you are using. Or are you building the clasS?

Edit: fixed syntax