Racked to secondary!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

OrCoastBrew

Reaction score
This is my first time and I probably should have just left it in my primary but I just had to see what was going on. So I waited for airlock activity to die off. That took about 6 days. Man was I blown away when I took that lid of to siphon over to my carboy. It was nasty looking! I am assuming all that crap around the rim and on the bottom of the bucket was yeast crap. Anyway it looked good and smelled like the best stale beer I have ever smelled. Now its in my carboy covered up with an old dallas cowboys t-shirt and I don't plan on messing with it for about 3 more weeks. I am hooked and I can't wait to taste test!!!!:drunk:

I use a secondary all the time - but, you really should wait a little longer and check the gravity before racking. Airlock activity isn't really a reliable indicator of readiness. If the hydrometer says it isn't quite done yet you'd want to leave it in primary a little longer before moving it, because sometimes they won't finish out once you take them off the yeast cake. 10 days is my minimum.

Did you check the gravity before racking?

I use a secondary all the time - but, you really should wait a little longer and check the gravity before racking. Airlock activity isn't really a reliable indicator of readiness. If the hydrometer says it isn't quite done yet you'd want to leave it in primary a little longer before moving it, because sometimes they won't finish out once you take them off the yeast cake. 10 days is my minimum.

Did you check the gravity before racking?

So ifshsum, what happens if you take it out of the primary to soon and it hasn't finished fermenting with the yeast?