Should I dump it?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

9am53

Reaction score
I made my first batch last night, I used a Morgans Canadian Blond kit, and used 1 kg DME and a level cup of Dex, OG was 1.044. Boiled the dry stuff, added the can, and topped up with cool water. I proofed my yeast, but it was dead (kit is slightly expired) so I added another packette (a random coopers packette I found). The thing is though, the kit says to ferment at temps 71-86 degrees. Since it is my first time around I wasn't sure what to set my heater too (it's in the basement which is cold). THis morning I wake up and of course run downstairs like a kid on Xmas morning, and sure enough the yeast are munching away, BUT the temp is at 84 degrees! THis is what the kit called for, but I am using a different yeast, so I presume this is way too warm. I turned the heater down, but am worried that the beer will be undrinkable. Should I just dump it and do another batch with a lower temp now that I have a grasp on the heater?

Don't dump. You will have some off flavors from such a high fermentation but it will be drinkable beer and a good lesson learned. Correct what you can correct now and let the chips fall where they may.

RDWHAHB!!! It is fine. The yeast from the first pack aren't dead. They may take a little longer to start munching, but if they started the next morning, they are fine. I would turn down the heater, and leave it alone. Trust me, it's fine.

Don't dump it. I have a pilsner in keg right now that I considered dumping because it had off flavors. They have mellowed over time and now the BMC crowd loves it. It's worth keeping it for up to a year IMHO. After that if I couldn't drink it I'd cut bait.